My Digital Detox experience II

No phone. No Facebook. No Google Maps. Nothing with a screen for 48h. Just-real-life.

Pic Detox

I’m on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. I post my pictures on Picasa, Instagram and Flickr. I am a Pinterest addict. I use Evernote, SlideShare. And now, I have a blog! I’m managing Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube, Scoop.it, Flickr channels at work. I love Storify and live tweeting and chatting on Skype and WhatsApp. Our devices have become an inseparable member of the family. However, I think it is healthy to unplug from time to time. One of the best things about taking a digital detox is that it gets your face away from the screen, and in front of the friendly faces of your friends and family.

Last year I signed up for a 48h Digital Detox experience – a fundraising event for people who needed a break from technology (more about the campaign here and here). I received a letter with several surprises inside: A survival pack, an organic herbal tea, two recipes, a condom, a Post-it note pad and a pen. I must say that I enjoyed the experience a lot. I had the impression that those 48 hours were 96 and after that period I could feel the difference in my mind, feeling more relaxed.

Constant use of email, social media and news feeds can be damaging to one’s health, according to several recent studies. So, it is time to unplug! After posting this message, I’ll be living in the analogue world for 48h.

3, 2, 1… <logging off>

Leave a Reply

